23 November 2018


Friday 23rd November
Winter league Round 2
Answer to rules query below....seems like J-Mac was correct and he could calmly walk over to his own ball , take a 2 shot penalty and play 4th to the Green. Apologies for ever doubting you Sir John.

Your little conundrum made a very simple problem seem complicated. Rule 15.3 (b) is quite specific in that once a wrong ball is played a two stroke penalty is incurred (as you suggested). However, the rule goes on to say that strokes made...with a wrong ball do not count in his score. The player would continue with his own ball from it's original position while the player whose ball was played would replace it (or a substitute) at as near to it's original spot is possible. (This is all as long as the player realises his error prior to teeing off on the next hole which would incur disqualification).

Thank to NC for explanation.


**** Message from Malcolm...did anyone find the cap from his Stanley Thermos Flask out there today..top reward for finder....****


Weather was very 'Iffy' as we arrived early and rain was falling, buggies were banned and low cloud was nearby but not actually sitting on the course.

Most would have understood if the Winter League had been postponed again..but Manager Alan Chance stuck to his guns and sent us out.


George was bursting with enthusiasm as he strode to 1st at 08:15......accusing us of being mad !

On the Tee and a perfect Drive from both George & Roger who were determined to get revenge on Gingell/Siabi who robbed them of the title in 2017.

Par 5 to start with and came in with a very good score of 42..but all to no avail.

every time we looked up Roger seemed to be rather close to the Pin and Gerry was just enjoying the ride.


Then the fun started as our Group waited on the 9th for  Greenskeeper to replace the pin on Main Green after 1st Group had played on Temporary. Similarly on the 10th, 1st Group had played to main Green, but we were happy hole-out on much shorter temporary as Green was being spiked..only for following group to be back on Main Green again...we sensed there could be trouble !


As we assembled in the Clubhouse. Senior Committee members had a gathering and between Bob, Alan, Frank and Ian they declared it a void Competition and the Money will be credited to your Round 3 Entry.

Alan also announced that having lost 2 Rounds now, each Player needs only play in a minimum of 1 Round in their team.

NB - Frank was not involved in the League today , so was independent of  the Competition.


So now a question for you.
Beautiful Drives down the 11th and then a Player plays the ball of a member of the Opposing Team. 
Not only does he play the Wrong ball, but he shanks it OOB. He then Drops another ball in this 'Wrong position' and puts it on the Green.  The Opposing Player identifies the error, so the Player who has by now incurred several Penalties, walks over to his Own Ball, accepts a 2-shot Penalty and plays to the green quite relieved having discarded a hatful of Penalties.
The conundrum was thrown to the 19th and various answers came up, but if it was a medal, what total would have to be recorded for the offending Player.
It would seem Penalty 1 was Playing the Wrong Ball; Penalty 2 was Hitting OOB; Penalty 3 was playing a Provisional from the wrong position...so you see the problem...
only hypothetical as his partner made a par..but it would be interesting to work out !

Players Identity has been concealed to save embarrassment..



and finally this arrived in my Email as a suggestion for a Winter League partner


.